Key aspects of Ohio’s transfer laws

On Behalf of | Aug 6, 2019 | Firm News |

All people make mistakes when they are young. Unfortunately, some of those mistakes can cause harm to or endanger others, leading to grave consequences.

In the case of certain criminal offenses, a child may face a transfer to adult court under the transfer laws. There are a few important aspects to understand about these specific laws.

Minimum ages

Depending on the severity of an offense, there is a minimum age at which a minor may receive a transfer to adult criminal court. The Ohio transfer laws describe in detail the terms under which this applies. In short, a child may face criminal charges as an adult starting at the age of 16. In cases of murder or attempted murder, the age drops to 14 years old. Some states are working to increase this age barrier. As of now, it is intact in the state of Ohio.

Multiple offenses

In some cases, a minor may face charges in criminal court and juvenile court. However, under the transfer laws, if the juvenile court decides to transfer one of the charges to criminal court, then all charges, included the charges under juvenile court, may be tried in the criminal court case.

Once and forever

After a minor receives a conviction as an adult or pleads guilty to a charge as an adult, that minor loses the minor status. In other words, if the minor faces any charges moving forward, he or she must face those charges as an adult. It is important to note that under this provision of the transfer law, the minimum age for facing charges as an adult is 14 years old.

If your child or loved one faces a transfer to adult court as a minor, there may be little that you can do. It may be beneficial to review the laws in full and consult with an attorney to determine the best course of action.